Past the Hurdles

For those of you who watch the TV series Doctor Who, you would probably know about the Time And Relative Dimension In Space (TARDIS). For the uninitiated, the TARDIS is a spaceship that can travel to (almost) any point in time and space. Curious? Go watch Doctor Who… after you finish reading this.

Now, imagine you had a TARDIS. The catch is that it’s broken, and can’t go back into the past. It can only go to the future. Where would you go?

I know exactly where and when I would want to go. I want to skip the hardship of making my thesis in senior year of college. I want to go straight to my graduation, when I walk down that stage, shake hands with our Chancellor, and get my diploma. But I also plan on going to law school after college, and I don’t even want to think about how hard that would be. So I could skip that as well. And if I’m going to skip past law school, I’ll definitely skip reviewing for and actually taking the bar exam. If I could go to any point in my future, I would go to the day when I’m content.

The day when I wake up with a smile on my face because of the man/woman I love is lying right beside me. The day I wake up without worrying about money or food or debt. The day when my life is perfect.

The problem is, that day would never come. I can have a million dollars in my bank account, a sprawling estate, a perfect partner, and beautiful children. And I still wouldn’t be content. I want something better, something more. I dream of it all the time. It used to be only the best for myself. But as I grew older, I wanted something better for the people around me.

And besides, even if a day like that was possible, it wouldn’t be the same if I got there because of time travel. It wouldn’t mean as much compared to if I worked for it for so many years. Everyone and everything I would have then wouldn’t be as valuable to me.

I won’t turn down a chance to take the TARDIS for a spin though.

This post was inspired by a Daily Prompt: If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?

Cheers.

15 comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Fast Forward | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompts: Forward | A Life That is Full and Felt | Gradual Thought

  4. I really do get you – for the longest time I was NEVER content – NEVER. Always reaching for more … it’s hard in our society not to want more … honestly, I get it. Sometimes I just have to stop and breathe to remind myself how fortunate I am … it’s the only thing that keeps me grounded 🙂

  5. Pingback: “Pee here now” Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: A Reason For No Daily Prompt Today | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Always… | Words 'n Pics...

  8. Pingback: Is Cruelty To Animals Increasing? Fast Forward To Utopia | lynnesartandsoul

  9. Pingback: Back to the Future? | The Silver Leaf Journal

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: Fast forward | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  13. Pingback: A future without chronic illness | Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  14. Pingback: The only reason we should be concerned about nuclear warfare | Rob's Surf Report


Leave a Reply

